Coffeeneuring 2016

This particular post marks the “Going Public” of this blog. Although I have been posting here for awhile up ’till now it has been kept as “private”.

All the coffees in this year’s participation were made previous to setting off and carried with me except for the visit to Coronation Hall and “The Island”. Most of the routes here are on gravel back-country roads.

It has also been interesting to do this challenge as the weather changed. Looking at the pictures from No. 1 on the 10th of October and the last one on the 20th of November.

Coffeeneuring 2016 Coffee No. 1

Date: 10.10.16
Route: Around the Block. To the south.
Distance: 6.87 km
Temp: 5c
Wind: 15 km/h
Drink: Americano

Notes: This is a route that I have done several times this year. It is interesting to see/feel the changes. Colours. Leaves. Flowers. Fruit. Bugs or the lack there of. Creek water levels. Temperatures.

I always stop at the bridge. It is a good place to lean the bike and there is no need to lock up. Nice view for sipping ones brew. The bridge is ‘unmaintained’ and actually considered ‘closed’ to traffic, though I have seen cars, trucks and ATVs on the road, but I wouldn’t drive over the bridge with a vehicle. Renate and I are the only cyclists I have seen .

The hill up from the bridge going west is a real challenge to my lower-level cycling skills. Short but steep. Most of the time (except winter when it is snow & ice), it is large gravel (3 to 6cm) covered in water seeping from a slow spring on the hill.

If a fat bike comes my way some day I may try this in mid-winter.

Coffeeneuring 2016 Coffee No. 2

Date: 16.10.16
Route: To Coronation Hall, Bristol, Quebec from home. I went only one way. Renate picked me up there.
Distance: 17.10 km
Temp: 10c
Wind: 9 km/h

Coronation Hall is a local Cider Mill that has a good reputation for their apple pies.

coronation-hall_fs

Notes: Renate and I met there. (She came in the car) We shared 2 pieces of apple pie. 1 crumble topped crust, 1 regular pastry topped crust. The reputation for the pies is warranted. While there we also met the proprietor of Cafe 349. (I am quite sure I have had Coronation Hall apple pies there.) We took home two whole frozen pies. We also picked up 1.5 bushels of apples.

It had begun to rain as I arrived and the rain become more intense as we ate our pies and drank our coffee and tea. In the rush to get home I forgot to take pictures for proof of the outing!

The route, being one of the few that I can do that is paved most of the way, is fairly fast.

Coffeeneuring 2016 Coffee No. 3

Date: 23.10.16
Route: To the middle and highest point on Magic Road.
Distance: 19.05km
Temp: 8c
Wind: 33 km/h
Drink: Americano

I toast a special trip and Coffee No. 3 to Magic Road. Magic Road is a road that makes up a portion of my most travelled route to and from work.

I believe it is that one of the main reasons why I ride to work. A truly magical part of my commute. Every time I happen to use the car and travel by Magic Road I wish I was there on the bike instead!

This could be a much longer report but I think Magic Road deserves a post of its own at some point.

Coffeeneuring 2016 Coffee No. 4

Date: 02.11.16
Route: A detour on the way home from work.
Distance: Overall distance 19.14km
Temp: 10c
Wind: 15 km/h
Drink: Latte

I don’t know what it is about water, bridges and creeks, but these seem to figure a lot in the places I stop for coffee or a break. The direct route from work to this bridge isn’t one of my favourites. Especially at night. As such it is not not a part of my usual commute.Doing it as a detour off my regular route is much more pleasant.

Again a place to lean the bike and no need for locks. Just the sounds of the night and the river.

The creek under the bridge for No. 1 feeds into the small river that goes under this bridge. In fact it enters the river about 100m downstream from where I had my coffee.

Coffeeneuring 2016 Coffee No. 5

Date: 05.11.16
Route: The Island. Another detour just off the road on the way home from work.
Distance: Overall distance 17.73km
Temp: 10c
Wind: 13km/h
Drink: Americano

This was another detour on the way home from work, though not as much of one as No. 4, and being that the shop closes early on Saturdays it was still daylight.

Not far from home on our property is a place we call the island. Though not really an island it is bounded by two creeks and the road. The smaller creek meets the other larger one at the south end of “the island”. (If memory serves me right this little piece of land was called “the island” by the family we purchased the property from and the neighbours to the east now passed on.) The larger creek is the same one further south in No. 1.

Renate met me there with the coffee and some chocolate as a snack. We haven’t been in there for quite a while. The way in was quite overgrown and so the bike had to be walked in.

It was pleasant sitting under a small stand of Red Pines Renate had planted there a good while back. The pine needles provided a nice comfy spot.

The sky, on leaving, was impressive.

Coffeeneuring 2016 Coffee No. 6

Date: 07.11.16
Route: A sort of around the block to the north and east of home. Surprise, surprise, a creek is involved.
Distance: 9.18 km
Temp: 13c
Wind: 4 km/h
Drink: Latte

This route is a sort of ‘round the block’ except that the block is a little further east and north of No. 1.

The stopping point also involves a creek, but no bridge, just three largish culverts. This creek joins the creek from No. 1 and No. 5  up stream from the bridge in N0. 1, and further south of No.5 and the Island.

Coffeeneuring 2016 Coffee No. 7

Date: 14.11.16
Route: The same route as No. 6 with a different stopping point. To view the sun set over our home valley. No creek this time!
Distance: 9.18 km
Temp: 10c
Wind: 9 km/h
Drink: Latte

Following the same route as No. 6 the road climbs a little to Moffat Lake, the head waters of the creek in No. 1 and No. 6. Climbing west a little ways up from Moffat lake is one of the best views over our little valley.

Timing was pretty good. I was able to watch the sun set over our home valley and drink my brew.

The ride down the hill towards home was exhilarating. It isn’t long, but it is rather steep.

Coffeeneuring 2016: Coffeeneuring Always

Date: 20.11.16
Route: To another bridge just up river from No. 4
Distance: 10 km
Temp: -5
Wind: WNW 20 km/h gusting to 60 km/h
Drink: Hot Spiced Apple Cider

I know that I completed No. 7 the previous weekend on the 14th, but since the trip to Coronation Hall had no pictures for proof and for the heck of it, and with the snow coming down the way it was, I decided to give it a go. In some sense the idea of going out in that weather was the reason.

2 thoughts on “Coffeeneuring 2016

Leave a Reply

